• Rendsburggade 14

    9000 Aalborg




Research Cluster for Mobility and Tracking Technologies (MoTT) 


At the Department of Architecture, Design and Media Technology and in association with the Centre for Mobility and Urban Studies (C-MUS), Aalborg University the interdisciplinary Research Cluster for Mobility and Tracking Technologies (MoTT) works to explore the technical and social perspectives of new tracking and location based technologies. MoTT aims therefore to design, implement and test tracking technologies in the context of contemporary mobility. The cluster works across fields such as urban geography, urban design, mobility studies, city planning, computer vision, social signal processing, and data visualization etc. It explores technologies such as GPS, RFID, Bluetooth, etc. The research cluster’s work covers five general themes:


I. Tracking and Location Based Technologies - exploring new hardware and software for understanding mobility


II. Mobile Methods - innovation, reflection and development of new tracking and location based methods


III. Representing location-based data - exploring theoretical and methodological implications of processing, visualizing and representing location based data


IV. Theorizing the meaning of Tracking and Location Based Technologies to Mobility in the Network Society


V. Ethics, Surveillance and New Tracking Technologies


The work thereby span the exploration and application of new technologies, methodological innovations related to these, as well as the development of theories and explanatory models to enhance the understanding of these technologies and their societal importance and impact.


Task Force Member and Director, Ole B. Jensen, Professor, obje@create.aau.dk 

Task Force Member, Henrik Harder, Associate Professor, hhar@create.aau.dk 

Task Force Member, Hans Jørgen Andersen, Associate Professor, hja@create.aau.dk

Task Force Member, Thomas B. Moeslund, Associate Professor, tbm@create.aau.dk


Thomas Bjørner, Associate Professor, tbj@create.aau.dk

Kristian Hegner Reinau, Assistant Professor (Dept. 20 and 7), reinau@plan.aau.dk

Matthias Rehm, Associate Professor, matthias@create.aau.dk

Anne-Marie Sanvig Knudsen, PhD Fellow, askn@create.aau.dk 

Simon Wind, PhD Fellow, swin@create.aau.dk 

Tobias Thyrrestrup, Research Assistant, tobias.thyrrestrup@gmail.com

Cecilie Breinholm Christensen, Scientific Assistant, cbch@create.aau.dk

Valinka Suenson, PhD Fellow, vsue@create.aau.dk 

Anders Sorgenfri Jensen, Research assistant, asje@create.aau.dk

Niels Thuesen, Resarch assistant,  nthu@create.aau.dk

Ditte Benndix Lang, PhD Fellow, dbla@create.aau.dk

Tino Kastbjerg Stigsen, student assistant, tstigs07@student.aau.dk

Anders Jørgensen, Research assistant, andjor@create.aau.dk

Rikke Gade, Research assistant, rg@create.aau.dk

Isak Worre Foged, research assistent, iwfo@create.aau.dk

Mads Brath, research assistant, mbje@create.aau.dk

Søren Eskildsen, research assistant, se@create.aau.dk

Preben Fihl, Assistant Professor, fihl@create.aau.dk

Ann Morrison, Assistant Professor, morrison@create.aau.dk

Esben Skouboe Poulsen, PhD Fellow, esben@electrotexture.org


All key members of staff has employment at the ad:mt department but the cluster is as mentioned affiliated to the Centre of Mobility and Urban Studies which is a cross-faculty and interdisciplinary centre hosted at Aalborg University that is expected to be able to benefit to the cluster’s activities and further work.

Fingerprint Fingerprint er automatisk genererede koncepter, som relaterer til enhedens profil, samt indholdet i de tilknyttede personprofiler. Det opdateres løbende med tilføjelsen af nye registreringer.

Cameras Teknik og materialevidenskab
Sports Teknik og materialevidenskab
Computer vision Teknik og materialevidenskab
Robots Teknik og materialevidenskab
Biometrics Teknik og materialevidenskab
Detectors Teknik og materialevidenskab
Lighting Teknik og materialevidenskab
Face recognition Teknik og materialevidenskab

Netværk Klik på punkterne for at se detaljerne.

Projekter 2008 2022

Future Patient: Telerehabilitation and Gamification

Christensen, B. C., Dinesen, B. & Knoche, H.


Projekter: ProjektForskning

Art.Forum: Automated Road Transport for the North Sea Region

Lanng, D. B., Jensen, O. B., Larsen, G. R. & Borg, S. R.


Projekter: ProjektForskning

WeNet: WeNet - The internet of us

De Götzen, A., Morelli, N., Simeone, L. & Bjørner, T.


Projekter: ProjektForskning

Publikationer 2005 2020

Computer vision
Controlled Environment
Artificial Intelligence

A Survey on Image-Based Automation of CCTV and SSET Sewer Inspections

Haurum, J. B. & Moeslund, T. B., mar. 2020, I : Automation in Construction. 111, 19 s.

Publikation: Bidrag til tidsskriftTidsskriftartikelForskningpeer review

Networks (circuits)

Challenges for designing adaptive gamification in telerehabilitation systems for heart failure patients

Christensen, B. C., Knoche, H. & Dinesen, B., 2020, ArtsIT 2019 – 8th EAI International Conference: ArtsIT, Interactivity & Game Creation.

Publikation: Bidrag til bog/antologi/rapport/konference proceedingKonferenceartikel i proceedingForskningpeer review



Aktiviteter 2008 2019

How to design and measure a serious game aiming at emotional engagement of social anxiety

Thomas Bjørner (Foredragsholder)
27 nov. 201929 nov. 2019

Aktivitet: Foredrag og mundtlige bidragKonferenceoplæg

Unik forskning i brug af Machine Learning i vandsektoren

Bolette Dybkjær Hansen (Foredragsholder), Thomas B. Moeslund (Foredragsholder)
13 nov. 2019

Aktivitet: Foredrag og mundtlige bidragKonferenceoplæg

Qualitative Methods for User and Consumer Research in Science, Engineering and Medicine

Thomas Bjørner (Arrangør)
5 nov. 20197 nov. 2019

Aktivitet: Deltagelse i faglig begivenhedOrganisering af eller deltagelse i workshop, kursus, seminar eller lignende