• PostadresseVis på kort

    Selma Lagerløfs Vej 249

    9260 Gistrup




Head of research group: Winnie Jensen


Who we are?

Within neurorehabilitation, the aim is to improve the independence and quality of life for people who experience impaired sensory or motor functionalities. We develop innovative neurorehabilitation solutions – and we create knowledge that leads to novel systems and rehabilitation strategies. We are an interdisciplinary group of engineers, neurophysiologists and an ethicist who integrate the fields of neural engineering and neurophysiology.


Our research – what we do?

We develop invasive or non-invasive technological systems such as brain computer interfaces, neural prostheses, neurorobotics, neural interfaces and sensor technology

We design neuromodulation paradigms and systems

We work by revealing, understanding and modulating neuroplastic mechanisms

We apply neuro-signal processing and modelling

We have a strong technological and engineering approach and an electrophysiological foundation to problem solving

We bridge animal and human research; i.e. we involve animal models, human volunteers and patients


How does our research contribute to societal health challenges?

’’Disability is part of being human. Almost everyone will temporarily or permanently experience disability at some point in their life. Over one billion people – about 15% of the global population – live with some form of disability and this number is increasing’’ (source: WHO).

We develop solutions for, e.g. stroke victims, children sensory processing deficits, amputation, ALS and chronic pain patients.


Who are our key collaborators?

  • Professor Thomas B. Moeslund, The Technical Faculty of IT and Design, Department of Architecture, Design and Media Technology, Aalborg University

  • MD Niels Svaneborg, Neurology, Aalborg University Hospital,

  • Clinical Professor, Carsten Reides Bjarkam, Aalborg University Hospital

  • Clinical Professor Jørgen Feldbæk, Hammel Neurocenter, Århus University Hospital

  • Birgit Larsen, University College Nordjylland

  • Professor Dario Farina, Imperial College London, UK

  • Associate Professor Ernest Kamavaku, University College London, UK

  • Professor Victoria Chapman, Nottingham University, UK

  • Associate Professor, Ken Yoshida, Indiana University Purdue- Purdue University Indianapolis, USA

  • Associate Professor, Numa Dancause, University of Montreal, Canada

  • Professor Natalie Mrachacz-Kersting, Technical University of Dortmund, Germany



Fingerprint er automatisk genererede koncepter, som relaterer til enhedens profil, samt indholdet i de tilknyttede personprofiler. Det opdateres løbende med tilføjelsen af nye registreringer.

Samarbejde i de sidste fem år

Klik på punkterne for at se detaljerne.