CCWS - Centre for Comparative Welfare Studies

  • Postal addressShow on map

    Fibigerstræde 1

    9220 Aalborg Øst


Organisation profile

Organisation profile

Established in 1995, the Centre for Comparative Welfare Studies (CCWS) is a multidisciplinary research centre dedicated to comparative social policy and welfare research. CCWS is located at the Department of Politics and Society but has since its establishment had participants from other departments within and outside Aalborg University. The Centre is committed to theoretical and empirical research that applies a cross-national comparative perspective. The Centre has a special focus on the challenges and changes within the Danish and Nordic welfare states. CCWS has a multidisciplinary approach but has a general focus on the interplay between large social developments, such as economic globalization, migration and ageing, and the institutional structures of the Nordic welfare states, such as benefit/services schemes, labour market regulations and family structures. CCWS is working to attain and maintain the position as a leading centre of knowledge in the field of comparative welfare research both nationally and internationally. Via active involvement in national and international debates, we aim to share our research and expertise regarding welfare policies with policy-makers and the public. Internationally CCWS is involved in leading academic networks and conduct research with partners around the world. You can follow our national contributions on (see also CCWS in the media). CCWS has a broad profile but currently has a number of cutting edge research projects within the following areas:

  • The institutional and political dynamics of changing welfare states
  • Normative foundations of the welfare state
  • Welfares systems, family and social stratification
  • Welfare systems and senior citizens
  • Welfare systems, citizenship and ethnic diversity
  • Welfare systems and regional dynamics and disparities
  • Welfare systems in China and East Asia


The fingerprint consists of concepts related to the research profile of the unit and associated persons. It is updated automatically, when new content is added.

Collaborations from the last five years

Dive into details by clicking on the dots.
  • International Social Survey Programme: Role of Government I-V - ISSP 1985-1990-1996-2006-2016

    Kelley, J. (Contributor), Evans, M. (Contributor), Pammett, J. H. (Contributor), Mateju, P. (Contributor), Linek, L. (Contributor), Lemel, Y. (Contributor), Forsé, M. (Contributor), Harkness, J. (Contributor), Mohler, P. (Contributor), Park, A. (Contributor), Brook, L. (Contributor), Taylor, B. (Contributor), Thomson, K. (Contributor), Jowell, R. (Contributor), Robert, P. (Contributor), Kolosi, T. (Contributor), Phadraig, M. N. G. (Contributor), Lewin-Epstein, N. (Contributor), Tabuns, A. (Contributor), Gendall, P. (Contributor), Skjak, K. K. (Contributor), Pettersen, P. A. (Contributor), Toš, N. (Contributor), Diez-Nicolás, J. (Contributor), Méndez Lago, M. (Contributor), Edlund, J. (Contributor), Svallfors, S. (Contributor), Joye, D. (Contributor), Armingeon, K. (Contributor), Schoebi, N. (Contributor), Smith, T. W. (Contributor), Davis, J. A. (Contributor), Marsden, P. V. (Contributor), Blunsdon, B. (Contributor), Marinović Jerolimov, D. (Contributor), Mansfeldova, Z. (Contributor), Shamshiri-Petersen, D. (Contributor), Andersen, J. G. (Contributor), Frederiksen, M. (Contributor), Severin, M. C. (Contributor), Melin, H. (Contributor), Gonthier, F. (Contributor), Wolf, C. (Contributor), Clery, L. (Contributor), Phillips, M. (Contributor), Niklass, M. (Contributor), Milne, B. (Contributor), Humpage, L. (Contributor), Kolsrud, K. (Contributor), Bahna, M. (Contributor), Hafner-Fink, M. (Contributor), Malnar, B. (Contributor), Struwig, J. (Contributor), Lindh, A. (Contributor), Davern, M. (Contributor), Hout, M. (Contributor) & Briceño-León, R. (Contributor), GESIS, 2023


  • International Social Survey Programme: Role of Government IV - ISSP 2006

    Group, I. R. (Creator), Philips, T. (Contributor), Mitchell, D. (Contributor), Pammett, J. H. (Contributor), Jerolimov, D. M. (Contributor), Jokic, B. (Contributor), Mateju, P. (Contributor), Linek, L. (Contributor), Andersen, J. G. (Contributor), Andersen, J. (Contributor), Dore, C. (Contributor), Blom, R. (Contributor), Lemel, Y. (Contributor), Forsé, M. (Contributor), Melin, H. (Contributor), Mohler, P. (Contributor), Park, A. (Contributor), Johnson, M. (Contributor), Jowell, R. (Contributor), Robert, P. (Contributor), Phadraig, M. N. G. (Contributor), Lewin-Epstein, N. (Contributor), Aramaki, H. (Contributor), Hara, M. (Contributor), Nishi, K. (Contributor), Tabuns, A. (Contributor), Koroleva, I. (Contributor), Ganzeboom, H. (Contributor), Gendall, P. (Contributor), Skjak, K. K. (Contributor), Guerrero, L. L. (Contributor), Mangahas, M. (Contributor), Sanoval, G. (Contributor), Cichomski, B. (Contributor), Cabral, M. V. (Contributor), Vala, J. (Contributor), Khakhulina, L. (Contributor), Toš, N. (Contributor), Struwig, J. (Contributor), Kim, S. (Contributor), Diez-Nicolás, J. (Contributor), Garcia-Pardo, N. (Contributor), Méndez Lago, M. (Contributor), Edlund, J. (Contributor), Svallfors, S. (Contributor), Joye, D. (Contributor), Schoebi, N. (Contributor), Fu, Y. (Contributor), Smith, T. W. (Contributor), Davis, J. A. (Contributor), Marsden, P. V. (Contributor), Piani, G. (Contributor), Rossi, M. (Contributor), Ferre, Z. (Contributor), Goyeneche, J. J. (Contributor), Zoppolo, G. (Contributor), Briceno-León, R. (Contributor), Camardiel, A. (Contributor), Avilla, O. (Contributor), Jorrat, J. R. (Contributor), Devine, P. (Contributor), Piscová, M. (Contributor), Center Of Survey Research, A. S. (Contributor), Agency For Social Analyses (ASA), S. A. P. (Contributor), TARKI Social Research Centre, H. (Contributor), Santiago, I. (Contributor), Institute Of Market Investigation, S. (Contributor), SFI Survey, C. (Contributor), Asisa Research Group (ARG), D. R. (Contributor), Statistics Finland, H. (Contributor), FRANCE-ISSP Association Laboratoire De Sociologie Quantitative, M. (Contributor), TNS Infratest, M. (Contributor), National Centre For Social Research, G. B. (Contributor), TARKI Social Research Centre, H. (Contributor), Economic And Social Research Institute, D. (Contributor), B.I. And Lucille Cohen Institute For Public Opinion Research, I. (Contributor), Central Research Services, T. (Contributor), Institute Of Philosophy And Sociology, U. O. L. (Contributor), Faculty Of Social Sciences, V. U. A. (Contributor), Massey University, D. O. M. (Contributor), TNS Gallup, O. (Contributor), Social Weather Stations, Q. C. (Contributor), Public Opinion Research Center (CBOS), P. (Contributor), TNS-Euroteste, L. (Contributor), Survey Research Center, S. U. (Contributor), Public Opinion And Mass Communication Research Centre, L. (Contributor), Análisis Sociológicos Económicos Y Políticos (ASEP), M. (Contributor), Human Sciences Research Council, S. (Contributor), Survey Research Center, S. U. (Contributor), MIS Trend, I. P. L. D. M. E. L. S. D. (Contributor), Center Of Survey Research, A. S. (Contributor), National Opinion Research Center NORC, U. O. C. (Contributor), Department Of Economic-Faculty Of Social Sciences, U. O. U. (Contributor), Centro De Estudios De Opinión Pública, U. D. B. A. (Contributor), Central Survey Unit Of The Northern Ireland Statistics And Research Agency, N. I. (Contributor) & Bratislava, F. (Contributor), GESIS Data Archive, 26 May 2021