Department of Sustainability and Planning

  • Postal addressShow on map

    Rendsburggade 14

    9000 Aalborg


Organisation profile

Organisation profile

Head of Department
Anne Merrild Hansen

The field of the Department includes development and planning in a broad sense, and thereby it reaches from the social science aspects of development (technological, environmental, international and administrative aspects) to physical planning, sector planning, land management, and to technical subjects such as road engineering, road safety, surveying and mapping. The department belongs to the Technical Faculty of IT and Design

The staff of the department provides teaching to practical all study committees at the Faculty, with a focus on the Surveying, Planning & Environment" and "Traffic Engineering" programmes as well as the new programme in Geography. The teaching activities also include the Freshman Year programme and the open university programmes "Master of Technology Management - GeoInformatics", "Human Ecology" and "Health informetics".

The members of staff at the department are also involved in Ph.D. programmes "Planning and Development" and Civil Engineering at the The International Doctoral School at the Faculty of Engineering and Science.

The wide field of the department is reflected in the research, which takes place in serveral research groups.

Read more about the department at


The fingerprint consists of concepts related to the research profile of the unit and associated persons. It is updated automatically, when new content is added.

Collaborations from the last five years

Dive into details by clicking on the dots.