Department of Chemistry and Bioscience

  • Postal addressShow on map

    Fredrik Bajers Vej 7H

    9220 Aalborg


Organisation profile

Organisation profile

Department of Chemistry and Bioscience

The Department of Chemistry and Bioscience was established in 1974 and is part of the Faculty of Engineering and Science at Aalborg University. The Department is located in Aalborg , Esbjerg and Copenhagen.

About 800 students are enrolled in our courses. The Department employs 189 staff (31.12.20) divided into the following categories:

  • Professors
  • 20% Professors 
  • Associate Professors 
  • Assistant Professors 
  • Post Doc 
  • PhD students 
  • Academic staff 
  • Laboratory Technicians 
  • Administrative staff 

In addition we have external professors and associate professors , teaching assistants and student assistants.

The Departments primary mission is research and research based education in chemistry, environmental engineering, biology and biotechnology. The Department also contributes to innovative research and knowledge sharing in collaboration with industry, both nationally and internationally.

Further information about key figures can be found on the Department web: 

The Department is divided into two research sections and an administration.

The daily management of the Department is managed by the Head of Department, the Vice Head of Department for Education, the Vice Head of Department for Research and the Head of Secretariat in collaboration with the department's two section heads.


The fingerprint consists of concepts related to the research profile of the unit and associated persons. It is updated automatically, when new content is added.

Collaborations from the last five years

Dive into details by clicking on the dots.